Sven Giegold
Member of the European Parliament – Greens/EFA Group

Speaker of the German Green Delegation

Europe Calling “What next from Karlsruhe?” with Prof. René Repasi on Wed, 28.4. 1 p.m. CEST

Recording / Presentation

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Dear friends, dear interested,

We’ve just had a lucky escape. After the green light from Karlsruhe, Germany can ratify the EU’s Corona Recovery programme. But this breathing space is no reason to relax. Every time the German Constitutional Court announces a decision on EU financial or monetary policy, the blood pressure rises in Brussels, Berlin and the European capitals. This is because the court has earned a reputation for being particularly critical of European projects through its decisions on, for example, ECB bond purchases. 

We therefore asked Prof. René Repasi to analyse for us: What surprises can we expect next from Karlsruhe:

  • Is the ECB’s bond-buying programme PSPP now constitutional after the clarifications by the ECB and the Bundesbank?
  • Is the ECB’s corona-crisis-related PEPP bond-buying programme threatened with trouble from Karlsruhe?
  • Could Karlsruhe still set limits to the corona recovery programme in the main proceedings, for instance by referring the matter to the ECJ?
  • And more generally: Why is Karlsruhe often so critical of European decisions? How can the relationship between Germany’s Federal Constitutional Court, the national supreme courts and the European Court of Justice be made future-proof?

In the next issue of Europe Calling, we would like to discuss these central questions for the future of the European community of law with the renowned European law expert Prof. René Repasi and you. Repasi studied law in Heidelberg and Montpellier and holds a doctorate in German law. As Professor of International and European Law at Erasmus University Rotterdam and Director of the Erasmus Research Centre for Economic and Financial Governance (ECEFG), he has analysed the decisions of the Federal Constitutional Court and will present his findings to us in the webinar.

Date: Wednesday, 28.4.2021, 13:00 – 13:45 CEST

Register here!

The webinar will be held in English and simultaneously interpreted into German.

I look forward to the discussion with you. Feel free to forward this invitation to other interested parties.

With European greetings,

Sven Giegold MEP and Franziska Brantner MP

Sven Giegold
Mitglied der Grünen/EFA-Fraktion im Europaparlament

Sprecher Europagruppe Grüne

Europe Calling “What next from Karlsruhe?” mit Prof. René Repasi am Mi, 28.4. 13 Uhr

Aufzeichnung / Präsentation

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Liebe Freundinnen und Freunde, liebe Interessierte,

gerade noch einmal gut gegangen. Nach dem grünen Licht aus Karlsruhe kann Deutschland das Corona-Wiederaufbauprogramm der EU ratifizieren. Doch eine Atempause ist noch kein Grund zur Entspannung. Jedes Mal, wenn das deutsche Bundesverfassungsgericht eine Entscheidung in Sachen EU-Finanzen verkündet, steigt die Nervosität in Brüssel, Berlin und den europäischen Hauptstädten. Denn das Gericht hat sich durch die Entscheidungen z.B. zu den EZB-Anleihekäufen den Ruf erarbeitet, besonders kritisch gegenüber europäischen Projekten zu sein. Wir haben daher Prof. René Repasi gebeten für uns zu analysieren, welche Überraschungen als Nächstes aus Karlsruhe zu erwarten sind:

  • Ist das Anleihekauf-Programm PSPP der EZB nun nach den Klarstellungen von EZB und Bundesbank verfassungskonform?
  • Droht dem coronakrisenbedingten Anleihekaufprogramm PEPP der EZB Ungemach aus Karlsruhe?
  • Könnte Karlsruhe im Hauptsacheverfahren das Corona-Wiederaufbauprogramm doch noch Grenzen setzen, etwa durch Vorlagen beim EuGH?
  • Und allgemeiner: Warum ist Karlsruhe immer wieder so kritisch gegenüber europäischen Beschlüssen? Wie kann die Beziehung zwischen dem Bundesverfassungsgericht, den nationalen Höchstgerichten und dem europäischen Gerichtshof zukunftsfest gemacht werden?

Diese zentralen Fragen für die Zukunft der europäischen Rechtsgemeinschaft möchten wir in der nächsten Ausgabe von Europe Calling mit dem renommierten Europarechtler Prof. René Repasi und Ihnen und Euch diskutieren. Repasi hat in Heidelberg und Montpellier Recht studiert und ist im deutschen Recht promoviert. Als Professor für internationales und europäisches Recht an der Erasmus Universität Rotterdam und Direktor des Erasmus Research Centre for Economic and Financial Governance (ECEFG) hat er die Entscheidungen des Bundesverfassungsgerichts analysiert und wird uns seine Ergebnisse im Webinar vorstellen.

Termin: Mittwoch, 28.4.2021, 13:00 – 13:45 Uhr

Das Webinar wird in Englisch stattfinden und simultan ins Deutsche übersetzt.

Wir freuen uns auf die Diskussion mit Ihnen und Euch. Leitet diese Einladung gerne auch an andere Interessierte weiter.

Mit europäischen Grüßen,

Sven Giegold MdEP und Franziska Brantner MdB