Sven Giegold
Member of the European Parliament – Greens/EFA Group

Speaker of the German Green Delegation

“Understanding the Brexit Deal” – British-German webinar with Brexit expert Prof. René Repasi – Thu, Jan 7, 8pm CET

Recording below / Download presentation here

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Dear friends, dear interested,

Since the 1st of January, the trade agreement between the EU and the UK is in force. The more than 1,200-page treaty was finally agreed upon on Christmas Eve and provisionally put into force by the 27 EU member states in order to prevent even more severe distortions than already caused by Brexit.

But what does it actually say? What exactly does the treaty mean for future relations with the UK and especially for people and businesses on both sides of the EU’s new external border? What does it mean for European democracy and the legal order?

Prof. Dr. René Repasi will answer these questions and more. He is a professor at Erasmus University Rotterdam and director of the Erasmus Centre for Economic and Financial Governance and a proven Brexit expert. He is a permanent expert member of the Enquête Commission on “Brexit” of the Landtag of North Rhine-Westphalia in Germany.

In the coming weeks, the European Parliament will discuss and vote on the trade agreement. Only then can it finally enter into force. We Greens have not yet decided whether we will vote in favor of this deal. That is why we are even more pleased that Prof. Repasi will analyse the deal for us and discuss it with you.

The event is co-hosted by Anna Cavazzini MEP, Prof. Molly Scott Cato and Sven Giegold MEP:

Molly Scott Cato was an MEP for the Green Party of England and Wales until the UK’s withdrawal and continues to be the party’s spokesperson on European affairs. She is a professor of economics at the University of Roehampton.

Anna Cavazzini joined the European Parliament in 2019 and was recently elected chair of the Internal Market Committee. She thus plays a crucial role in the upcoming discussions in the European Parliament.

Sven Giegold, as spokesman for the German Greens in the European Parliament and chair of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs, will analyse the text of tax policy.

Time: Thursday, January 7th 2021, 8 p.m. – 10 p.m. CET

Registration here: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/2816098453974/WN_fredhkRVRtG-JbKmI9tXrg 

The webinar will be held in German and English with simultanoeus interpretation.

After years of discussions about “soft” and “hard” Brexits, this is now the opportunity to understand more precisely what Brexit has actually become in the end. Be there and ask your questions!

With European regards,

Anna Cavazzini MEP, Prof Molly Scott Cato & Sven Giegold MEP

Sven Giegold
Mitglied der Grünen/EFA-Fraktion im Europaparlament

Sprecher Europagruppe Grüne

“Understanding the Brexit Deal” – Britisch-Deutsches Webinar mit dem Brexit-Experten Prof. René Repasi – Do, 7.1., 20 Uhr

 Aufzeichnung unten / Präsentation hier herunterladen

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden


Liebe Freundinnen und Freunde, liebe Interessierte,

seit dem 1.1. gilt der Handelsvertrag zwischen der EU und Großbritannien. Der mehr als 1.200-Seiten-starke Vertrag wurde am Weihnachtstag fertig verhandelt und durch die 27 EU-Mitgliedsländer vorläufig in Kraft gesetzt, damit es nicht zu noch schwereren Verwerfungen kommt, als der Brexit ohnehin schon ist.

Doch was steht überhaupt drin? Was bedeutet der Vertrag genau für die zukünftigen Beziehungen zu Großbritannien und ganz besonders für die Menschen und Unternehmen auf beiden Seiten der neuen EU-Außengrenze? Was bedeutet er für die Europäische Demokratie und Rechtsordnung?

Einer, der das genau weiß, ist Prof. Dr. René Repasi, Professor an der Erasmus Universität Rotterdam und Direktor des Erasmus Centre for Economic and Financial Governance und ausgewiesener Brexit-Experte. Er ist ständiges sachverständiges Mitglied der Enquête-Kommission “Brexit” des Landtags von Nordrhein-Westfalen.

In den nächsten Wochen wird das Europaparlament über den Handelsvertrag beraten und abstimmen. Erst dann kann er endgültig in Kraft treten. Wir Grüne haben noch nicht entschieden, ob wir diesem Deal zustimmen. Deswegen freuen wir uns umso mehr, dass Prof. Repasi den Deal für uns analysiert und mit Ihnen und Euch diskutiert.

Mit dabei sind auch Anna Cavazzini, Prof. Molly Scott Cato und Sven Giegold.

Molly Scott Cato war bis zum Austritt Großbritanniens Europaabgeordnete für die Green Party of England and Wales und ist weiterhin dort Sprecherin für Europäische Angelegenheiten. Sie ist Professorin für Wirtschaft an der University of Roehampton.

Anna Cavazzini ist seit 2019 Mitglied im Europaparlament und wurde erst kürzlich zur Vorsitzenden des Binnenmarktausschusses gewählt wurde. Sie nimmt damit eine entscheidende Rolle bei den anstehenden Diskussionen im Parlament ein.

Sven Giegold wird als Sprecher der deutschen Grünen und Obmann im Ausschuss für Wirtschaft und Währung den Text steuerpolitisch analysieren.

Zeit: Donnerstag, 7.1.2021, 20-22 Uhr

Anmeldung hier: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/2816098453974/WN_fredhkRVRtG-JbKmI9tXrg 

Das Webinar findet in Deutsch und English mit Simultanverdolmetschung statt.

Nach jahrelangen Diskussionen über “weiche” und “harte” Brexits, ist das jetzt die Gelegenheit genauer zu verstehen, was dieser Brexit am Ende jetzt überhaupt geworden ist. Seid dabei und stellt Eure Fragen!

Mit europäischen Grüßen,

Anna Cavazzini MdEP, Prof. Molly Scott Cato & Sven Giegold MdEP