Sven Giegold
Member of the European Parliament – Greens/EFA Group

Speaker of the German Green Delegation

Europe Calling “Contain COVID-19 – The European Way out of the Lockdowns” with Dr Viola Priesemann – Sun, 17.1., 5-7 p.m. CET

Recording here / English translation here!

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Dear friends, dear interested,

In many European countries, the number of infections is again rising exponentially or stagnating at far too high a level. In many places, the situation in hospitals is dramatic. In Europe, several thousand people die every day from Covid-19. We do not want to and must not get used to this.

It is becoming apparent that, especially in view of the new, faster-spreading virus variants, the current lockdown measures will not be sufficient to bring the numbers down quickly and sustainably. Long-lasting and repeated lockdowns in different countries in Europe with all the negative social and economic consequences would be the result.

But it does not have to be this way if we act together and consistently in Europe now. Shortly before Christmas, hundreds of European scientists outlined a European way out of the repeated lockdowns in the position paper “Contain COVID-19”. Among them are well-known experts from the fields of virology and epidemiology, sociology and economy. Their credo: We must now quickly reduce the number of cases to a minimum throughout Europe. Only then will we again be in a position to control the pandemic in the long term, even with new variants. 

Dr Viola Priesemann from the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization in Göttingen/Germany initiated this position paper. She became known in Germany and beyond through her modelling of the Corona pandemic.

We are very pleased that Dr. Viola Priesemann has agreed at short notice to present the position paper and the consequences for European corona policy in a new edition of Europe Calling and to discuss it with you.

Please note: The event will be held in German and written translation into English will be provided.

Date: Sunday, 17.1.2021, 17:00 – 19:00 hrs CET (Brussels time)

Registration here: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/6716107015900/WN_kYREYqHcS4mjL8NlzmbpBA 

Participating from us German Greens are:

  • Jutta Paulus MEP, pharmacist and expert on health and pandemic control in our German Green delegation in the European Parliament
  • Janosch Dahmen MEP, health expert for the German Greens in the Bundestag and emergency physician, until recently senior physician in charge of the Berlin emergency medical services and responsible, among other things, for pandemic response
  • Sven Giegold MEP, spokesman for the German Greens in the European Parliament and member of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs

Our interactive online format of Europe Calling allows participants to ask questions and take part in the discussion. Sign up now and be part of it! Feel free to share this invitation with everyone who might be interested!

With European greetings,

Jutta Paulus MEP, Janosch Dahmen MP and Sven Giegold MEP

Sven Giegold
Mitglied der Grünen/EFA-Fraktion im Europaparlament

Sprecher Europagruppe Grüne

Europe Calling “Contain COVID-19 – Der Europäische Weg raus aus den Lockdowns” mit Dr. Viola Priesemann – So, 17.1., 17-19 Uhr

Aufzeichnung unten / English translation here!

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Liebe Freundinnen und Freunde, liebe Interessierte,

in vielen europäischen Staaten steigen die Infektionszahlen wieder exponentiell an oder stagnieren auf viel zu hohem Niveau, so auch in Deutschland. Die Situation in den Krankenhäusern ist vielerorts dramatisch. In Europa sterben jeden Tag mehrere tausend Menschen an Covid-19. Daran wollen und dürfen wir uns nicht gewöhnen.

Es zeichnet sich ab, dass auch gerade angesichts der neuen, sich schneller verbreitenden Virus-Variante, die jetzigen Lockdown-Maßnahmen nicht ausreichen werden, um die Zahlen schnell und nachhaltig zu drücken. Langanhaltende und wiederholte Lockdowns in jeweils unterschiedlichen Ländern in Europa mit all den negativen sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen wären die Folge.

Doch das muss nicht so sein, wenn wir jetzt gemeinsam und konsequent handeln. Kurz vor Weihnachten haben hunderte europäische Wissenschaftler*innen in dem Positionspapier “Contain COVID-19” einen europäischen Weg aus den wiederholten Lockdowns aufgezeigt. Darunter bekannte Namen aus Virologie und Epidemiologie wie die Professor*innen Brinkmann, Ciesek, Drosten, Streeck, Busse, Eckerle Meyer-Hermann; der Soziologe Armin Nassehi, der Chef des ifo-Instituts Clemens Fuest und der Präsident des Robert-Koch-Instituts Lothar Wieler. Das Credo: Wir müssen jetzt die Fallzahlen schnell und europaweit auf ein Minimum senken. Dann sind wir wieder in der Lage, langfristig die Pandemie zu kontrollieren, auch bei einer neuen Variante. 

Federführend war dabei Dr. Viola Priesemann vom Max-Planck-Institut für Dynamik und Selbstorganisation. Sie wurde durch die Modellierung der Corona-Pandemie bekannt und hat das Positionspapier auch schon in Vorbereitung der letzten Ministerpräsidentenkonferenz dort vorgestellt.

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Dr. Viola Priesemann sich kurzfristig bereit erklärt hat, das Positionspapier und die Konsequenzen für die deutsche Corona-Politik in einer neuen Ausgabe von Europe Calling vorzustellen und mit Ihnen und Euch zu diskutieren.

Termin: Sonntag, 17.1.2021, 17:00 – 19:00 Uhr

Anmeldung hier: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/2816098453974/WN_kYREYqHcS4mjL8NlzmbpBA

Mit dabei sind von uns Grünen:

  • Jutta Paulus MdEP, Pharmazeutin und Expertin unserer deutschen Delegation im Europaparlament für Gesundheit und Pandemiebekämpfung
  • Janosch Dahmen MdB, Gesundheitsexperte in der Grünen Bundestagsfraktion und Notfallmediziner, bis vor kurzem Oberarzt für die Ärztliche Leitung des Rettungsdienstes Berlin und u.a. verantwortlich für die Pandemie-Bekämpfung
  • Sven Giegold MdEP, Sprecher der deutschen Grünen im Europaparlament und Obmann im Ausschuss für Wirtschaft und Währung

Unser interaktives Online-Format von Europe Calling ermöglicht es den Teilnehmer*innen, Fragen zu stellen und sich an der Diskussion zu beteiligen. Meldet Euch gleich an und seid dabei! Teilt diese Einladung auch gerne mit allen Interessierten!

Mit europäischen Grüßen,

Jutta Paulus MdEP, Janosch Dahmen MdB und Sven Giegold MdEP