Sven Giegold
Member of the European Parliament – Greens/EFA Group

Speaker of the German Green Delegation

POSTPONED: Webinar “Deregulation For Future? – An agenda for financial regulation during the pandemic & beyond” – Tue, 20 Oct 8-10 pm CEST

Dear friends, dear interested,

Thank you very much for your interest in our webinar “Deregulation For Future?” with Daniela Gabor and William White, which was scheduled for tomorrow, 20 October 2020, at 8 pm CEST. Unfortunately, due to health reasons the webinar has to be postponed.

We will schedule a new date for our webinar with Daniela Gabor and William White and we are looking forward to the discussion. As soon as a new date has been determined, you will receive an updated invitation.

With European greetings,

Sven Giegold, Stasys Jakeliūnas & Ernest Urtasun
Members of the European Parliament for the Greens/EFA

—-

Register here!

Dear friends,
Dear interested,

The Covid-19 pandemic has triggered unprecedented financial policy responses. While central banks supported markets at previously unthinkable scale, regulators worldwide rushed to lower prudential requirements for banks and other financial actors. In the European Union, further deregulatory legislation is already in the making. But can these measures truly support a sustainable recovery from the crisis or are they simply gifts to an often self-serving financial industry without effect on the real economy? How should an adequate regulatory response to the crisis really look like? And what should be the regulatory agenda for the time after the pandemic?

We are excited to discuss these questions and many more in a webinar with Daniela Gabor and William White.

Daniela Gabor is a professor for economics and macro-finance at UWE Bristol and well-known for her work on central banking, global, interconnected banks and shadow banking. She has also been a lead researcher for the Institute of New Economic Thinking (INET). Further work centres around transnational banks’ involvement in policy deliberations around capital controls and crisis management in both global settings and emerging markets.

William White is a senior fellow at the C.D. Howe Institute and has for many years worked at the forefront of international financial regulation as head of the Monetary and Economic Department at the Bank for International Settlements in Basel. He was one of the few top economists in financial institutions who warned before the great financial crisis since 2007. Until 2018, he was the chairman of the Economic and Development Review Committee at the OECD.

The interactive online format allows participants to ask questions and participate in the discussion. The event will be held in English with interpretation into German and Spanish. Places are limited so register now and join our event:

Time: Tuesday, 20 October 2020, 20:00 – 22:00 CEST (Brussels time)

Registration: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/8516024946910/WN_wpvSfUyPS4Wovt5Yw8G9vw

We are looking forward to a lively and interesting discussion with you.

With European greetings,

Sven Giegold, Stasys Jakeliūnas & Ernest Urtasun
Members of the European Parliament for the Greens/EFA

Sven Giegold
Mitglied der Grünen/EFA-Fraktion im Europaparlament

Sprecher Europagruppe Grüne

VERSCHOBEN: Webinar “Deregulation For Future? – Strategien für die Finanzmarktregulierung in der Pandemie & danach” – Di, 20.10. 20 – 22 Uhr

Liebe Freunde, liebe Interessierte,

vielen Dank für Ihr Interesse am Webinar “Deregulation For Future?” mit Daniela Gabor und William White, das eigentlich morgen, am 20. Oktober 2020, um 20:00 stattfinden sollte. Leider muss der Termin aus gesundheitlichen Gründen verschoben werden.

Doch aufgeschoben ist nicht aufgehoben: Wir freuen uns darauf, das Webinar mit Daniela Gabor und William White schon bald nachzuholen. Sobald ein neuer Termin feststeht, erhalten Sie eine erneute Einladung.

Mit europäischen Grüßen

Sven Giegold, Stasys Jakeliūnas & Ernest Urtasun
Mitglieder des Europaparlaments in der Fraktion Grüne/EFA

—-

Hier registrieren!

Liebe Freunde, liebe Interessierte,

die Covid-19-Pandemie hat beispiellose finanzpolitische Reaktionen ausgelöst. Während die Zentralbanken die Märkte in einem zuvor unvorstellbaren Ausmaß unterstützten, beeilten sich die Regulierungsbehörden weltweit, die aufsichtsrechtlichen Anforderungen für Banken und andere Finanzakteure zu senken. In der Europäischen Union stehen bereits weitere Deregulierungsgesetze auf der Agenda. Aber können diese Maßnahmen wirklich eine nachhaltige Erholung nach der Krise unterstützen oder sind sie nur Geschenke an eine oft um den eigenen Nutzen kreisende Finanzwirtschaft? Wie sollte eine angemessene regulatorische Reaktion auf die Krise wirklich aussehen? Und wie die regulatorische Agenda für die Zeit nach der Pandemie?

Wir freuen uns sehr, diese und viele andere Fragen mit Daniela Gabor und William White im Rahmen eines Webinars zu diskutieren.

Daniela Gabor ist Ökonomie-Professorin an der UWE Bristol und bekannt für ihre Arbeit zu Zentralbanken, globalen & vernetzten Banken und dem Schattenbankensektor. Sie war außerdem leitende Forscherin für das Institute for New Economic Thinking (INET). Weitere Arbeiten befassen sich mit der Beteiligung transnationaler Banken an politischer Entscheidungsfindung über Kapitalverkehrskontrollen und Krisenmanagement sowohl in globalen Kontexten als auch in Schwellenländern.

William White ist Senior Fellow am C.D. Howe Institute und hat viele Jahre an der vordersten Front der internationalen Finanzmarktregulierung als Leiter der Währungs- und Wirtschaftsabteilung der Bank für Internationalen Zahlungsausgleich in Basel gearbeitet. Er war einer der wenigen Spitzenökonomen in Finanzinstitutionen, die vor der großen Finanzkrise von 2007 gewarnt haben. Bis 2018 war er Vorsitzender des Ausschusses für die Beurteilung von Wirtschaft und Entwicklung bei der OECD.

Das interaktive Format erlaubt es den Teilnehmern, Fragen zu stellen und an der Diskussion teilzunehmen. Die Veranstaltung wird auf Englisch stattfinden und in Deutsch und Spanisch simultan übersetzt. Die Platzzahl ist begrenzt, also melden Sie sich an und seien Sie dabei:

Zeit: Dienstag, 20. Oktober 2020, 20:00 – 22:00 MESZ

Registrierung: hier

Wir freuen uns auf eine lebhafte und spannende Diskussion mit Ihnen.

Mit europäischen Grüßen

Sven Giegold, Stasys Jakeliūnas & Ernest Urtasun
Mitglieder des Europaparlaments in der Fraktion Grüne/EFA