Sven Giegold
Member of the European Parliament – Greens/EFA Group

Speaker of the German Green Delegation

NPL Action Plan: Insufficient protection for borrowers and taxpayers

Today, on 16 December 2020, the European Commission has presented its new action plan on non-performing loans (NPLs). It is the Commission’s latest effort to deal with the elevated level of NPLs which have been plaguing banks in many member states ever since the European debt crisis. The new push comes ahead of a potentially massive rise in NPLs in the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic. The ECB has recently estimated that the total NPLs of euro area banks might rise to 1.4 trillion euros in an adverse scenario.

The action plan describes tools and strategies to cope with high levels of non-performing debt. Remarkably, it does not entail any major new legislative proposals. Several ideas are presented on how to promote liquid secondary markets for NPLs through an increase of transparency and further standardisation. This section also contains a proposal to lower the existing capital requirements for purchasers of NPLs under certain conditions. The action plan further outlines how bad banks or ‘asset management companies’ could be used to remove NPLs from banks’ balance sheets and how a European network of national bad banks could help improve processes and outcomes. It calls for progress regarding the establishment of accelerated extrajudicial collateral enforcement procedures, which the Commission has proposed before but failed to receive a majority in the European Parliament so far. Finally, it sketches how the existing tool of precautionary recapitalisation established under BRRD can be used in the current crisis.

MEP Sven Giegold, financial and economic policy spokesperson of the Greens/EFA group commented:

“The basic problem with secondary markets for NPLs remains. We cannot allow that borrowers are being sold like inanimate goods. A high degree of fungibility and market liquidity can only be achieved by reducing borrowers and loans to plain and simple numbers. This is what the Commission tries to promote through enhanced transparency and standardisation. But ultimately, this is incompatible with minimal standards on consumer protection. Moreover, the economics of such an anonymous procedure does not work. Building on the mutual trust between the original creditor and the borrower will achieve better outcomes in most cases. Therefore, truly liquid markets for NPLs must remain a pipe dream.

”In the absence of truly new proposals by the Commission, the coming wave of insolvencies and corporate loan losses in the wake of the pandemic will have to be handled using the existing tools. State aid rules have worked poorly in the past when it comes to precautionary recapitalisation and other public support measures. The action plan does not suggest that the Commission will take a tougher stance on the use of public money in the future. Hence, in a possible Covid banking crisis, European taxpayers will again be called to pay the final bill.”

 

Background: NPL Directive

The action plan also calls for a swift finalisation of the so-called NPL Directive. The Commission had presented a draft for this directive in early 2018. The original proposal comprised two elements: a legal framework for European secondary markets in NPLs and the establishment of an accelerated extrajudicial collateral enforcement procedures (AECE). Pursuant to the Commission’s plans, AECE would have allowed creditors under certain conditions to enforce collateral outside the regular insolvency proceedings to speed up value recovery. After AECE had received headwinds from both the European Parliament and the Council of Ministers, the topic had been carved out.

Nevertheless, progress has been stalled on the directive until now. Views in the European Parliament have been split on the question of borrower protection. In particular the Greens/EFA and S&D have been calling for strong safeguards when banks sell credit claims to other investors. A move of the conservative groups on this issue could end the blockage and allow a finalisation in the beginning of next year.

Sven Giegold
Mitglied der Grünen/EFA-Fraktion im Europaparlament

Sprecher Europagruppe Grüne

Aktionsplan für notleidende Kredite: Unzureichender Schutz für Kreditnehmer und Steuerzahler

Heute, am 16. Dezember 2020, hat die Europäische Kommission ihren neuen Aktionsplan für notleidende Kredite (NPLs) vorgestellt. Es ist die jüngste Maßnahme der Kommission im Hinblick auf das hohe NPL-Niveau, das die Banken in vielen Mitgliedstaaten seit der Eurokrise plagt. Der neue Vorstoß kommt im Vorfeld des potenziell massiven Anstiegs der NPLs im Zuge der Covid-19-Pandemie. Laut Schätzungen der EZB könnten der Gesamtbestand an notleidenden Krediten bei den Banken der Eurozone bei ungünstigem Verlauf der Krise auf 1400 Milliarden Euro ansteigen.

Der Aktionsplan skizziert Instrumente und Strategien zum Abbau hoher NPL-Bestände. Bemerkenswerterweise enthält er keine größeren neuen Gesetzesvorschläge. Es werden mehrere Ideen vorgestellt, wie liquide Sekundärmärkte für notleidende Kredite durch mehr Transparenz und weitere Standardisierung gefördert werden könnten. Versteckt in diesem Abschnitt ist auch ein Vorschlag, die bestehenden Eigenkapitalanforderungen für Käufer*innen von NPLs unter bestimmten Bedingungen zu senken. Der Aktionsplan skizziert ferner, wie Bad Banks oder “Asset Management Companies” eingesetzt werden könnten, um NPLs aus den Bilanzen der Banken zu entfernen, und wie ein europäisches Netzwerk nationaler Bad Banks helfen könnte, Prozesse und Ergebnisse zu verbessern. Der Plan fordert Fortschritte bei der Schaffung beschleunigter außergerichtlicher Verfahren zur Durchsetzung von Sicherheiten, welche die Kommission bereits vorgeschlagen hat, die aber bisher keine Mehrheit im Europäischen Parlament gefunden haben. Schließlich wird beschrieben, wie das bestehende Instrument der vorsorglichen Rekapitalisierung, das mit der BRRD eingeführt wurde, in der aktuellen Krise genutzt werden kann.

 

Sven Giegold, finanzpolitischer Sprecher der Fraktion Grüne/EFA im Europäischen Parlament, erklärt:

“Das Grundproblem bei den Sekundärmärkten für notleidende Kredite bleibt bestehen. Wir können nicht zulassen, dass Kreditnehmer wie Restposten verramscht werden. Ein hohes Maß an Handelbarkeit und Marktliquidität erreicht man nur, wenn Kreditnehmer und Kredite auf simple Kennzahlen reduziert werden. Genau das will die Kommission durch mehr Transparenz und Standardisierung fördern. Das ist letztlich aber unvereinbar mit Mindeststandards beim Verbraucherschutz. Außerdem ist auch die wirtschaftliche Bilanz eines derart anonymen Vorgehens schlecht. Einvernehmliche Übereinkünfte basierend auf dem gegenseitigen Vertrauen zwischen ursprünglichem Gläubiger und Kreditnehmer erzielen in der Großzahl der Fälle bessere Ergebnisse. Wirklich liquide Märkte für notleidende Kredite müssen daher ein Wunschtraum bleiben.”

“Im Zuge der Pandemie droht eine Welle von Insolvenzen und Ausfällen bei Unternehmenskrediten. In Ermangelung wirklich neuer Vorschläge seitens der Kommission werden wir diese mit den bestehenden Instrumenten bewältigen müssen. Die Regeln für staatliche Beihilfen haben in der Vergangenheit schlecht funktioniert, wenn es um die vorsorgliche Rekapitalisierung von Banken und andere öffentliche Unterstützungsmaßnahmen geht. Der Aktionsplan lässt nicht vermuten, dass die Kommission in Zukunft bei der Verwendung öffentlicher Gelder genauer hinsehen wird. Bei einer möglichen Corona-Bankenkrise werden also wieder die europäischen Steuerzahler zur Kasse gebeten.”

 

——–

P.S.: Einladung zum digitalen Adventsgottesdienst “…denn sie hatten keinen Raum – Gottesdienst in Verbundenheit mit den Schutzsuchenden an den Grenzen Europas” u.a mit EKD-Ratspräsident Heinrich Bedford-Strohm. Sonntag, 20.12.2020, 19 Uhr. Gleich hier anmelden!